CRKT Notorious by Gerry McGinnis – Black Blade, Black G10 Scales, Veff Combo, OutBurst Knife Review

April 9, 2010 at 3:59 pm 3 comments


After reviewing the Summa and Tuition I thought that Gerry McGinnis could not top his past knives. Now the new Notorious Everyday Carry knife has changed my opinion with an all new all black knife. The new knife has a full size feel of the Summa while having some Tuition styling’s as well.



The new knife uses OutBurst Assisted Opening System. This patented opening system allows for fast opening action. The previously two knives featured Flipper opening system. I found both opening systems to work very well.




There are two models of the Notorious, the Black blade and the Satin Blade. The one I chose was the all black model which is $10 more than the Satin. The black blade features a coating of black oxide, along with black G10 scales, and finally the patented Veff Serrated edge for faster cutting. The knife also features a stainless steel frame, 3.5″ blade, and stainless steel clip.


The CRKT Notorious Assisted Opening Knife is a great addition to the knives Gerry McGinnis has designed. I am more than happy with the look and feel along with the performance of the knife. It really is a great everyday carry knife to carry around with.

10 Out of 10

You can order your knife now directly from the manufacturer HERE

Also check out the video of Gerry McGinnis who designed the knife talk about the new Notorious knife

Entry filed under: Reviews.

Samsung F3EG 2TB EcoGreen Drive Review Universal Gadget Wrist Charger Review

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JPC  |  December 19, 2010 at 3:30 am

    10 out of 10? I’d give this turd a 1 out of 10, and only because the blade itself is fairly decent.

    Everything else about this “knife” SUCKS. It’s cheap Chinese made trash.

    First time in my life I’ve ever had to return a knife, it’s so terrible and worthless, I can’t even toss it in the “rough use” drawer.

    If you know knives, DO NOT BUY THIS TURD. And yes, I mean TURD. I’d flush this P.O.S. down the toilet if I couldn’t get most of my money back.

    Don’t be cheap, get a Benchmade. I have a Benchmade Nitrous Stryker, yes it costs almost three times as much, but you wont be sorry.

    CRKT should be ashamed of putting their name on this Chinese JUNK.

    Reply
  • 2. Pat  |  April 16, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    Agreed. This knife SUCKS! I got it as a swap for a broken Wild Weasel (great knife, made HERE)

    “opens with a flick of the thumb” my ass! It’s so tight that it almost rips open your thumb trying to get the blade to move.

    Typical Chinese crap quality.
    The new Shenanigan isn’t much better, nor is the Notorious.
    It is IMPOSSIBLE to open with one hand. The blade is not binding anywhere, I just can’t push any harder on the stud without ripping the flesh free on my thumb. I’m not a small guy, either, 5″11″, 225lbs, ex-Army. It looks like the angle on the blade where it meets the spring is too steep. The Wild Weasel I had before this would fly open at a light touch. This thing requires two hands to move the blade past 30 degrees. Not at all up to the standard I expected. My Wild Weasel worked better with a broken spring than the Notorious does brand new.

    Short story: It’s not just the NOTORIOUS, it’s quite a few of their knives.

    When CRKT moved manufacture to China, they moved Quality out the door.

    Get something else.

    Reply
    • 3. Pat  |  April 16, 2011 at 3:30 pm

      I forgot to add the M4 series. Same crap quality. HARD to open.

      A drunk monkey with a file could do better.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts