SimpleTech SimpleDrive External Hard Drive Designed by Pininfarina Review

July 12, 2007 at 8:49 pm 87 comments

simpletechsimpledrive01.jpg

Reviewed by K.C. Kim
http://www.simpletech.com/
* Slim, compact & stylish (designed by Pininfarina)
* Hi-Speed USB 2.0
* One-Click™ backup button
* Built-in capacity meter
* Plug n’ Play and Hot-Swappable
* Free and unlimited technical support

The sleek lines and ultra-low profile styling of the new SimpleDrive™ were designed by Pininfarina, the very same design firm that gives Ferrari sports cars their stylish lines.

Don’t let its beauty fool you. SimpleDrive is a high-performance external hard drive ideal for storing and backing up your music, video, photos and more. And with Hi-Speed USB 2.0, setup is a snap and data transfer rates are fast and reliable.

One-Click™ backup enables you to back up and protect all or selected files with a single click, providing the peace of mind knowing your digital world is safe and protected. And the built-in capacity meter allows you to view the utilized disk space.

Capacity: I still remember when 10GB hard drive was consider big. That’s not the case today. Beefier drives like the Simpletech SimpleDrive go up to a huge 500 GB capacity. With 750GB and 1TB drives in the near future.

500GB SimpleDrive External Hard Drive – Designed by Pininfarina 500 GB Onyx SP-U35/500
250GB SimpleDrive External Hard Drive – Designed by Pininfarina 250 GB Pearl SP-U35/250
160GB SimpleDrive External Hard Drive – Designed by Pininfarina 160 GB Fire SP-U35/160

Just to give you an overview of how much you can store on this external drive. Here is a chart

Capacity** Songs** Photos** Video** HD Video**
160GB 40,000 117,000 173 Hrs. 15 Hrs.
250GB 63,000 183,000 271 Hrs. 30 Hrs.
320GB 81,000 238,000 347 Hrs. 38 Hrs.
500GB 127,000 366,000 542 Hrs. 60 Hrs.
750GB 190,000 550,000 813 Hrs. 88 Hrs.

**Results based on average compression. Actual results will depend on device model, quality and compression. HD video is based on 720p or 1080 video output with 8.3GB/hour recording date

simpletechsimpledrive02.jpg
Included in the box:
USB 2.0 3.5” External Hard Drive with One-Click Backup Software
USB 2.0 Cable
AC Adapter
Resource CD

Requirements: Both Windows and Mac users will be happy to know that the drives works with both.

Macintosh
• Available USB 2.0 or 1.1 Port
• Mac OS v9.0 or later, built for Mac OS X

Windows
• Available USB 2.0 or 1.1 Port
• Windows 2000/XP and Vista

Intro: I always thought that my 80 GB hard drive would be good enough space to have everything on it. But as the programs, games, videos, mp3, documents add up I found very little space left over. This is the beauty of an external drive. No opening up your pc to install. Simply connect it to the usb2.0 port and you have just added tons of space.

Next I just didn’t want any external hard drive. I wanted one that would look just as sleek as my laptop. The SimpleTech was the solution. Unlike its competitors which look big, bulky, boxy and take up space. The SimpleTech is simply big on features yet small and compact with a wonderful design.

simpletechsimpledrive03.jpg
simpletechsimpledrive04.jpg
Design: The SimpleDrive does not look like your average external hard drive. This is due to the fact that it was design by Italian design team Pininfarina, the same design firm behind the Ferrari sports cars. Which translate to sleeker curves, stylish colors, and world class design that you want to show off to others.

simpletechsimpledrive06.jpg
simpletechsimpledrive07.jpg
Installation: First take the ac charger and connect it to the back of the drive. Next connect the USB2.0 cable to the PC. The drive should show up under my computer. Next install the software that is on the external hard drive. There is a PC and Mac version. I chose PC version of Total Media Backup & Record. One reboot later and you’re done. Now you can use the drive any way you want.

Function: The software included can provide backup, restore, and DVD/cd burning software. You can also drag and drop data into the drive and make folders just like your internal drive.

simpletechsimpledrive08.jpg
simpletechsimpledrive09.jpg
simpletechsimpledrive10.jpg
Backup: Easily backup data from your PC to your SimpleDrive External Hard Drive. You can backup videos, audio, photo, email, and more and even schedule daily, weekly, or monthly backups.

Extras: Included with the drive is a free 2GB account on myfabrik.com

simpletechsimpledrive05.jpg
Conclusion: The amount of storage you get for the price of under $100 for the 160GB model is amazing. As well as the other drives price competively. The design is by far the best I’ve seen for an external drive and backup solution is essential to take care of files that can’t be replaced in the off chance your computer hard drives fail. So if you want more space for your laptop or PC then the SimpleTech SimpleDrive might be right for you as well as bring up a touch of style and design.

Rating 9 out of 10

For more information click HERE

Entry filed under: Reviews.

Stainless Steel MP3 Watch (1GB) Review Able Planet’s Clear Harmony Noise Canceling Headphones Review

87 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Eric  |  August 4, 2007 at 12:14 am

    Hey I was wondering if you could tell me the voltage and amperage for the ac adapter. Thank you

    Reply
  • 2. nzomatrix  |  August 4, 2007 at 12:33 am

    OUTPUT +12V 1.5A
    OUTPUT POWER: 18W MAX

    Reply
  • 3. nzomatrix  |  August 4, 2007 at 12:34 am

    INPUT: 100-240V 1.0A MAX
    50-60Hz

    Reply
  • 4. Carlos  |  August 12, 2007 at 6:56 pm

    hi, i just bought a 250 gb, but it doesnt seems to work; nothing happens when i plug it (usb). ive a sony vaio laptop with winXP. i read a lot of things i can do, but even when sometimes it appears teh icon into MY PC, i cant do nothing with the icon (like right click to format) and my laptop freezes!!…. the same thing happens in other pc’s
    im about to break this stuff!

    Reply
  • 5. suuta  |  November 17, 2007 at 10:13 pm

    will it run off the usb 2.0 connection only or is the adapter a requirement at all times?

    Reply
  • 6. matt  |  November 23, 2007 at 11:33 pm

    Well, I bought the 500GB version about 2 months ago, and it took a dump on me today. Apparently it’s a frequent problem with the simpletech drives. I was wondering if you actually cracked open the case to see what was inside. At this point I’m considering doing this, as simpletech offers no data recovery, so I am reluctant to merely exchange my broke on for an empty one that will likely take a dump on me two months from now. I would be interested to know if the drive inside could be connected to a IEEE cable inside my box. Thanks..

    Reply
  • 7. Ronit  |  December 1, 2007 at 11:41 pm

    I bought the 500GB a month ago and my dog knocked it off the table. I can’t find any information on the noise that it’s making now. It’s like an error sort of sound, like something inside might be out of place. Nothing sounds like it loose, just that the error sound makes me think that the disk inside (if there is a disk) is slightly disconnected. Any suggestions? At this point I’m thinking of opening it myself. Good or bad idea?

    Reply
  • 8. Christina  |  January 5, 2008 at 4:57 am

    Ronit, i have the same issue and i was wondering if you managed to fix it. Any hints? What should I do?

    Reply
  • 9. Don  |  January 5, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    I bought the 500GB Pinifarina model for my son. He transferred data without saving to his laptop. All was working fine for a week but now the unit won’t power up…no lights…nothing. I haven’t seen this type of a problem in any other discussions. Any ideas?

    Reply
  • 10. Neon  |  January 17, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    I just bought one for my inlaw’s they put all their videos of a trip back home onto the hard drive with out saving on their desktop. The drive is now making a ‘clicking noise’ and is unable to power up. Is this the type of problem we are all facing?

    Reply
  • 11. Red  |  January 25, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    Me too, bought one in November, got about 100GB on it, it fell over from its side to its back and hasn’t worked since. Sounds like the disk is trying to spin but can’t, then just a flashing red light.

    Reply
    • 12. patrick antonio  |  November 7, 2009 at 9:57 pm

      out of the blue; stopped working… worked in the morning; dead in the afternoon…

      sounds like a fan is working really hard to get it going… red light flashes upon start-up, giving the hope of power; but, it simply will not get going.

      All of my pictures, music and movies would be gone forever if my PC decided to die right now.

      I need to run out to the store immediately and dump more cash on another back-up solution. IT WILL NOT BE A SimpleTech.

      Reply
  • 13. Redrum331  |  January 28, 2008 at 8:09 am

    lol dropped da damn fing and it makes da hissing noise too opened it up(thought da warenty was gone since i dropped it) and i didnt get into the actual hard drive but thats where the sound is coming from

    Reply
  • 14. thomas  |  February 25, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    I bought the 80GB Pinifarina model 7 months ago. for a week before only red light is shown no blue light i can hear spining sound from hard disk .when connected to system it detects storage device but dnt show drive letter. i checked in device manager no disk name shown there, i have lot of datas can i retrieve the dats or is east to repair.im in india cochin , i bought it from UAE so cant give it where i bought that please some help me

    Reply
  • 15. Bobbi  |  March 7, 2008 at 6:41 am

    My 500 usb 2.0 might’ve just died. I rebooted my 2004 PowerBook 1.5 15″ since my p2p software kept telling me a file and folder were hinky. The drive and all associated files were visible and behaving normal so I didn’t know there was a prob. Rebooting/powering down and sipping a Guiness in between usually solves a lot of probs, not today. I’m also on a Dynex 3 port usb hub. In the past the drive sometimes didn’t load properly when I rebooted (I gotta say restarted, we just don’t use boot in Mac land) so I didn’t think anything of it when it failed to mount. I did notice the blue lights were gone and all I saw was an ominous 4 or 5 pulsating flashes of the red light. Have tried the drive on my other Macs to no avail. Funny I’ve been planning on getting a back up the last few days just to have double redundancy. Even told my wife that 12 hours ago. Gonna take the drive apart and stick it in a firewire enclosure. But anyone have the Terminator red light experience???

    Reply
  • 16. jorge ruiz  |  April 9, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    i lost my ac adapter of simpletech external hard drive of 250 cap. somebody know the voltage and amperage of this product.
    thanks

    Reply
    • 17. jj  |  October 22, 2010 at 12:00 am

      did you ever discover the correct voltage for your hard drive… lost my adapter too?!!!!

      Reply
      • 18. Rod  |  October 22, 2010 at 12:47 am

        My 320gb unit runs on a 12V @ 1.5A power adapter.

        2nd option: buy a new hdd case from amazon.

  • 19. Zac Barclay  |  April 13, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    I had the same “red light” issue that many people seem to have had. It was also my second SimpleTech drive in less than a year. My opinion, they’re crap. Steer clear.
    I did find a solution that worked for me and at least allowed me to recover my data. I took a can of compressed air and blew in in all of the vents (side and rear) of the device. I don’t know if this cooled the drive enough to allow it to function or what, but it fired up long enough for me to transfer all my data back to my laptop. I guess I’ll be back in the market for a RELIABLE backup drive now…

    Reply
  • 20. William DeFries  |  April 22, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    I had a similar problem with a SimpleTech 250g Pininfarina USB drive. I went through the drivers, the power supply, the USB cables, and the various computers, USB cards and Operating systems. Finally I opened the case and found the disk drive was mounted too far forward, causing the IDE connector to barely touch. I loosened the mount screws, slid the drive back towards the connector, tightened everything down and it works.

    Reply
  • 21. chris  |  May 22, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    Yep, I moved to my new house and since reconnecting the 160 gig drive to my pc the blue light just flashes and isn’t read by my pc. I called simple tech they told me that it means the hard drive is bad. Isn’t that nice? I bought the damn thing a less than a year ago to store info I didn’t want to lose now its all lost. Thanks simpletech!

    Reply
  • 22. tony  |  June 6, 2008 at 10:44 am

    same issue here guys. I unscrewed the bottom, moved the hard drive around and plugged it back in and thankfully it’s still working. in the process of putting my stuff back onto the laptop. im gonna cut my losses and try western digital…

    Reply
  • 23. andrew  |  August 8, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    hey guys… like others I had the exact same problem… I am willing to void the warranty if I believe I can fix it myself and it was as easy as opening the darn thing up, pushing the IDE connection together and resecuring the screws in place… thanks for the fix and I hope this helps others!

    Reply
  • 24. tommy  |  September 1, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    hi,
    same issues same problems,I am going to open it and try to fix this HD-pfuiii…

    Reply
  • 25. amir  |  September 10, 2008 at 3:19 am

    Hi,
    I got the flashing red light problem too. I opened the box and I completely disconned the hard drive from the box. Then I connected the HD using “USB 2.0 Drive Mate” kit to my laptop and fortunately my laptop recognized the drive as a usb drive and everything worked fine. Quickly I backuped my data in another drive.
    Seems my problem was about the smal board in simpletech box which connect the HD to the usb port.

    Reply
  • 26. Dennis  |  September 13, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    I bought a 500 gig usb drive several months ago and it was half full of pictures that I transferred from the computer. It fell off the table and has not worked since. I plugged it back in. The blue light goes around several times, then there is a sound like it is searching for a load point. The red power light in back is lit. The computer does not recognize it as a usb device any more. Do you think voiding the warranty and going in to make adjustments would help. I can not afford 280 dollars to have some try to recover the pictures on it.

    Thanks

    Reply
  • 27. Chiara  |  September 16, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    Hello! Yesterday evening my 320GB SimpleTech hard drive dropped from a shelf at about 50-60m from the ground.
    I was watching a video in that moment on the pc.

    Before it fell to the ground it would make a normal sound of a device turning on, then the motor spinning, so it could “relate” to the computer.
    Now when I turn it on, it does the “device turning on” sound, then a noise that sounds like it is neglecting to turn on the motor. Sounds like a robot trying to say something.
    After a minute or so, it turns off. The blue light stays on only half a second upon connecting it to the power.

    The computer recognizes it only when I take the actual drive out of the case, after unscrewing it, and even then, it says I have to install a program for reading the new hard drive.

    I have many important files in there, and I can’t afford to do data recovery right in this moment. I use it very often, an if I found out what is wrong with the little motor, maybe I can fix it!!

    Reply
  • 28. Chiara  |  September 16, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    oops. I meant 60cm not meters.

    Reply
  • 29. Wajeeh  |  September 17, 2008 at 2:19 am

    @ Chiara, i have a similar problem, but i did not drop it. after backing up my data, i put the drive away in my cupboard. Then after a week i took it out to use some files on the drive and i get the same sound as you. it is not even a year old yet. the sound is like some error that wont let the drive to be read.

    How did you manage to get your pc to recognize it?
    Were you able to access your files?

    I hope i get a replacement of the drive.

    Reply
  • 30. harrison  |  September 23, 2008 at 8:39 am

    ya i hate these things now. total crap. myn just did the red light and is totally fubar. im gona take it out of the case tomorrow but these things suck.

    Reply
  • 31. Guillermo  |  September 29, 2008 at 9:50 am

    Had to use the two-usb-connector cable, which came with the 160 gb model, the second time around. Some of the failures may be a need for power.

    Reply
  • 32. Marindu  |  September 30, 2008 at 12:52 am

    Ronit, Christina I had that same problem, I desperate because all my work of 2 years was thereee 😥 Any suggestion??? Does anybody can help me?? plezzzz!!

    Reply
  • 33. sager  |  October 5, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    i have my 260gb simple tech, but i was using it in windows but im using mack book now i cant edit ir delete or even add files i cant format it, i need a solution plzzzz any suggestions,
    i cant beleive that i just can view the files it sucks and i need it nooooooow, i tried 2 install cross over which is runs windows programs on mac but it didnt work,
    any other solution,,

    Reply
  • 34. Keystone80435  |  November 7, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    My 250gb also took a dump for no reason. Full of bad secotors. I cracked it open and it’s for sure a Seagate 9EU132-300 SATA

    Reply
  • 35. rama krishna  |  November 20, 2008 at 5:45 am

    i buy 1tb external hd at usa.is it worrking in india or any powerproblems.help me

    Reply
  • 36. jeff chemnick  |  January 6, 2009 at 4:25 am

    Simpletech Sucks! I lost my AC adapter in a fire here in Santa Barbara and I have called and emailed to Simpletech 4 times trying to find out the correct AC adapter voltage and milliamperage…but no answer. Best way I know for a company to go out of business is to ignore it’s customers. Anyway, would appreciate if anyone knows the answer. I bougtht a 9 volt, 300 milliamp adapter from RadioShack but am afraid to try it out in case it’s wrong and fries my SimpleTech 250 GB external hard drive. Anyone know the answer? Thanks…please email me: jeffchemnick@cox.net

    Reply
  • 38. jeff chemnick  |  January 6, 2009 at 4:36 am

    Thank You
    Your request has been submitted successfully.
    Case # CS313052

    We will do our best to respond within 24 hours. Please refer to your Case # if you need to contact us. Please save this confirmation message or click print to print this page for your hard copy.

    Technical Support Request Confirmation
    Case # CS313052
    Contact Information
    E-mail jeffchemnick@cox.net
    First Name jeff
    Last Name chemnick
    Company
    Customer #
    Call Back Tel # (USA/Canada) 805 705 3397
    Best Time to Call
    Country USA
    Product Information
    Simpletech Part #
    BOM # don’t know
    System Manufacturer simpletech
    System Model Name external hard drive
    System Model# 250GB
    Operating System vista
    Detailed Description of the Problem
    Simpletech Sucks! I lost my AC adapter in a fire here in Santa Barbara and I have called and emailed to Simpletech 4 times trying to find out the correct AC adapter voltage and milliamperage…but no answer. Best way I know for a company to go out of business is to ignore it’s customers. Anyway, would appreciate if anyone knows the answer. I bougtht a 9 volt, 300 milliamp adapter from RadioShack but am afraid to try it out in case it’s wrong and fries my SimpleTech 250 GB external hard drive. Anyone know the answer? Thanks…please email me: jeffchemnick@cox.net

    Reply
  • 39. Tejus  |  January 29, 2009 at 8:56 am

    hi,
    I bought a 750gb external hard disk. I stay in Bangalore, India. I got it from my aunt. After one month of handling it, my system suddenly stopped recognising it. I dunno what to do. Please let me know if there is any outlet in india where i can get it fixed? Some piece seems to be shaking inside the hard disk. Please help me. Its almost been 6 months since i last used.
    Thanks in advance.

    Reply
  • 40. FUKSmpletech  |  February 5, 2009 at 10:50 am

    This company has made a pimped up drive. Pimped up only in the looks.

    Internal is just another Seagate drive and adapter becomes rather hot.

    also the software backup is not provided on the DVD.

    some gay gentleman designed this product

    Reply
  • 41. Tony in Mt. Plymouth Florida  |  February 18, 2009 at 2:42 am

    Simpletech Duo Pro 1TB RAID 0.

    Pure crap.

    Failed once after 5 months of ownership.

    Left it off for a few days. Turned it back on and it worked.

    Failed again permanently a month later.

    I will never buy Simpletech drives again.

    Reply
  • 42. Rod  |  February 28, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    Bought a 320Gb blue Simpletech drive and it has been working fine for 7 months (90% full), the funny thing I’m noticing is that it is starting to make a single-click noise once in a while – the kind of resonating-click sound you get from a tuning fork, is the final coming?

    Reply
  • 43. Adapter  |  March 1, 2009 at 5:11 am

    The adapter for my SimpleTech is a 12V @ 1.5A — the plug has the positive (+) in the center.

    Reply
  • 44. Fvcking Simpletec  |  March 28, 2009 at 10:30 pm

    Thanks for the comments. I have the 750 GB Simple Tech USB drive. My drive stopped mounting, like the others here. I ripped off the “warranty void” sticker, opened the casing, and saw that the connector that attaches the “blue light” indicator on the top of the USB drive case was falling off. It’s a terribly cheap little connector they have. Even though I always babied this drive, the connector cable was probably always loose, and eventually the connection worsened to the point where something got shorted out and the drive would no longer mount.

    So, I fully disconnected that cable, which fortunately fixed the mounting problem. I will live without the blue light so that I can just use the damn drive.

    The drive in my unit is a Western Digital SATA drive. If I have further problems with the USB controller I will remove the drive and mount it inside my PC.

    Hope this info will help someone else.

    Reply
  • 45. Jordan  |  April 1, 2009 at 5:39 am

    Can someone describe for me what the IDE connection is.. one of the passed posts said that allowing it to touch the hard drive made it work, i’ve opened up my harddrive but i do not know what this is

    Reply
  • 46. Nagendra Pratap Singh  |  April 1, 2009 at 6:16 am

    Search for IDE cable in google images. It is a flat ribbon cable. The other connector is called MOLEX connector. That has 4 pins. You can see that in google images also

    Reply
  • 47. Rhocky  |  April 24, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    Mine doesnt work, it clicks and the light only comes on when i plug it in. Its not being read on the computer, or any other one that is. Is there a way to fix it?

    Reply
    • 48. chuck  |  July 5, 2010 at 8:15 am

      I have a simpletech 250GB
      as all the comments said I opened it up to check if it was the connector. it wasnt thought. mine makes a clicking noise in the hard drive inself like the disk inside is trying to turn but gets stuck.
      did you have the same problem?
      Did u find a solution?

      Reply
  • 49. Aidris  |  May 9, 2009 at 2:07 am

    Hi, I designed this drive with some very talented engineers. The product was working perfect until the design was changed by a new managment team. If you can get a used one from early 2007, it should work great. Otherwise, I suggest you stay away from SimpleTech products until they have a new management.

    Reply
  • 50. Steve  |  August 11, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    I have the 500 GB Simpledrive. The blue light is on, but it appears no one is home. My computer does not recognize the drive. If I put it to my ear I can hear a faint clicking noise inside. If I open the case can i mount it to the inside of the computer. I have many years of work stored on it.
    Thanks for ANY help.

    Reply
  • 51. Rod  |  August 11, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    Steve: Try to connect the device to another pc/laptop – sometimes that simple procedure allows you to access the data. Second option is to open the case, remove the hd and connect it as a slave drive and see if it shows/is detected.

    Dont forget to backup your data often!

    Reply
  • 52. Lee  |  August 11, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    I have a 1TB drive, and wondering if any one has any idea how to open the case up. It has the clicking noise, and I unscrewed the drive, but the case still won’t open, any suggestion will be appreciated.

    Reply
  • 53. Malcolm  |  September 1, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    After reading about all the problems with bad connectors, when my drive would not show up, I disconnected it, tapped it with the heel of my hand smartly a couple of times on the back then connected it back up. It worked!!! I figured I might get the connector to touch enough again to be able to transmit data and that’s what must have happened.

    I bought this less than a month ago on sale at Best Buy so I plan to take it back as soon as I’ve got my data on it squared away. Meanwhile I plan to not move it at all.

    Reply
  • 54. jose  |  September 12, 2009 at 5:54 am

    this drive its really bad, i cant format the drive, and i ncat copy big fil;es, cause the drive stop working, i send an email to simpletech support an i never had a reply,

    STAY AWAY FROM SIMPLETECH PRODUCTS.

    Reply
  • 55. Dave  |  September 20, 2009 at 7:21 am

    well, after reading all these bad reviews and issues, I think I’m gonna backup my simpletech backup drive onto my hard drive! Ive had my 1T for quite a few months now. I dont move it, i dont turn it off, I don’t breathe near it. Its a backup drive! Should be reliable no? So far so good..but i have noticed that it seems a bit noisier now. I hear a wind up of the motor and then a click. Not sure if it always did this. Is this normal? I hope it is….

    Reply
  • 56. oper  |  September 21, 2009 at 4:50 am

    I bought for 190$ and after 13 month the hard drive stopped starting. My “Pininfarina” stopped working very similar to others reported on this site. Red light was on but nothing else was happening. I decided to open the box….So..I took it apart and found that the circuit board with AC and USB jacks on it is directly (not though a flexible harness) connected to the hard drive inside and every time you plug USB cable there is a stress put on the hard drive connector blade. It was easy (re-plug into hard drive) to make it work again, BUT I had to take it apart. A nest for hard drive alows eventual sliding of the hard drive out of the connector blade if someone presses USb or AC jack a little harder or the devise falls even from the minimal hight. It is a joke, I hope it is not a “Pininfarina design”, I did not try to drive “Pininfarina” car and I am not sure if I would now try to drive it if that was the same company or individual who designed this hard drive compartment. My hard drive inside was Hitachi Deskstar(tm) dated Jul-2008 and 1GB capacity and this drive seems to working OK after I reconnected it back to the control board. SIMPLETECH, YOUR DESIGN OF THIS DRIVE is A JOKE.

    Reply
  • 57. oper  |  September 21, 2009 at 4:58 am

    It is 1TB capacity, NOT 1GB, sorry.

    Reply
  • 58. juan guillermo  |  October 12, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    I need help, the drivers of my 320Gb blue Simpletech drive doesn’t work. I’m trying to connect to the pc but it doesn’t recognize.

    where can I find this driver???

    Reply
  • 59. Iceman4242  |  October 15, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    Simple Tech 250 gb, I have had it for a while and has never worked right bought it for Circuit City. I wrote simple tech for and RMA several months back with now reply. So I decided might as well open the case and see what is the matter, found out it had a Sata drive in it. I took the drive out and put it in one of may computer which saw the drive, I reformatted it and tried again on the board that came with the drive with now luck. I bought a case from fry’s for a large hard drive that I never used because it was for SATA drive. I stuck it in and is working. I didn’t mention that in my computer and in the big portable drive it has a power supply. I think someone what someone said is correct that the case that came with the simple tech can not power the drive. I have had bad experience with simple tech and I would not buy another product from them.

    Reply
  • 60. Vladamir  |  October 19, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    Absolute junk. Would not recognize the drive in Windows XP. I was able to take the drive out and hook it up to a PC with a SATA connector to get the data off. Now I have a 500GB internal drive which I didn’t really need.

    Reply
  • 61. imgoinmad  |  November 14, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    Stay away! Simpletech has no customer service at all…I did 2 rma requests in 2 weeks with no response. I finally called and got an RMA from them. 7 weeks later I’m still waiting for my replacement although their rma paperwork says 10 business day replacement. I’ve tried contacting tthem twice this week with no response. They suck!

    Reply
  • 62. Robin  |  November 17, 2009 at 5:36 am

    Wow, thanks guys… I broke it open and plugged it back in. WTF hard to believe it was something that stupid. Will never purchase Simple Tech again.

    Reply
  • 63. Sharon  |  December 3, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    I tried to start up by external hard drive the other day and it lite up blue for a second and sounded like it was tring to load but nothing happened. Then a red light came on and blinked for a few seconds. What do I do?

    Reply
  • 64. Vivian  |  December 7, 2009 at 12:12 am

    I had the simpletech drive 500GB, When I turn it on the blue on one time and after that just the sound and later nothing happen. I already check “my computer” but see nothing. Did anyone have same problem with me, please share how to recovery the information in it.

    Reply
  • 65. ROd  |  December 7, 2009 at 4:20 am

    Vivian: it could be just that the connector is not making good contact with the drive’s pins, if so, you could try openning the unit and make sure nothing is loose — while voiding the outstanding warranty, if any.

    Reply
    • 66. aidan  |  December 11, 2009 at 10:38 pm

      How do you open the unit. I’ve got it halfway open but can’t seem to get it – I’m afraid of breaking it.

      Reply
      • 67. christin  |  December 22, 2009 at 8:21 pm

        i’m having the same problem…i can’t get it all the way open…..did you all force it open? i[‘m using a lot of force but i can’t get the part where it comes to a point to separate.

      • 68. christin  |  December 22, 2009 at 8:33 pm

        got it…bastards hid 2 screws under the silver sticker.

  • 69. AlaskaJohn  |  December 22, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    I also had a faulty 250 GB pinifarina signature SimpleTech drive. I bought it because I mistakenly believed it was excelent for travel.

    For a while, after the initial fault, I was able to get it to work by tilting it on its side (or in other ways affecting the physical connection)

    I was convinced it was the connection, so decided to open it up (voiding the warranty) to see if there was something I could do.

    On opening, it was one of those ‘ah-ha’ moments when I realized that obviously this ‘signature designed USB drive’ was nothing more than a plastic hdd enclosure/caddy for a 2.5 inch Western Digital (WD Scorpio) SATA drive. Duh! Of course it was… I can’t believe I was fooled into believing it was something more.

    So, I’ve ordered a cheap new HDD enclosure from Amazon ($10) and if the above comments are indication, that should do the trick.

    I’ll know tomorrow… but if for some reason it doesn’t fix the problem, then I’ll post a follow-up … otherwise, my advice to any would-be purchasers of this product… just get a cheap drive and enclosure for about 1/4 the price.

    Reply
  • 70. Michaela  |  January 10, 2010 at 4:41 am

    So, after spending HOURS and HOURS trying to get my simple drive (160GB) to work again, I finally took it apart, pushed on the pins in the front, literally shoved it back into the case, and it is working. All I have in the house is a 16GB flash. Just enough to save my kid’s pictures. The rest will have to get backed up as soon as I can get a new and NOT SIMPLETECH external hard drive. I hope this thing works long enough for me to get my video off. Customer service was an absolute joke. Thank you to the posts that gave me the courage to take this damn thing apart. I am VERY GRATEFUL.

    Reply
  • 71. HossH  |  February 25, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    Pirafarina 250 gB Simpletech – out of warrantee. Signs on to Win XP Pro just fine. Reads and writes fine. But, every 10-15 minutes or so, it disconnects then reconnects right back up. Not making any noises, no extra heat that I can tell. I have two of these so I took the sick one and connected it to a second desktop. Same thing. I took it and connected it to my laptop, same thing. I then took it and swapped the USB cable in both instances, same thing. I then took the sick one and swapped it with the good working one on my third PC. Hoping to see if maybe it was the AC adapter. But, same thing having it now on a totally new PC, totally different USB cable and different AC adapter.

    Who has a suggestion for what to do next? Like the drive – hate the hassle. And of course, you have to be concerned about what happens if the disconnect occurs in the midst of a write.

    H

    Reply
  • 72. Jav  |  March 2, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    If these are the same guys that design for Ferrari, I can’t help but wonder how long a Ferrari will last after you buy it. The Pirafarina 500 gb drive sucks. I would gladly give up asthetics for reliability. Save your money and buy something else.

    Reply
  • 73. Jay  |  March 6, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    All of a sudden my 500GB simpletech drive became write protected and I cannot remove it. The drive is useless as I cannot put files on or pull them off. Any ideas?

    Reply
  • 74. Sweet  |  May 13, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    I have the 500GB & it crashed on me as well. Last month I was using it to save some files. Then next thing I kno, it stopped lighting up & shut off. Thought maybe it was running hot & left it to cool off. Then I tried to turn it on & nothing. I just hear a faint beep, no lights, no connection, no nothing. I have a lot of files on there that I need & I’m looking for help retrieving it. I just need it to work long enough to get the files off & onto a more reputable hard drive. I didn’t think about trying another a/c adapter but not sure if it’s safe to use the adapter from the cable/wireless modems. If opening is a guarantee I’m willing to try that as well.
    SOMEBODY/ANYBODY PLEASE HELP! :O) It would be greatly appreciated.

    Reply
  • 75. lala-loo  |  June 9, 2010 at 12:15 am

    Simpletech stopped working. I ripped the warranty sticker off and unscrewed the casing. The 2 plastic mounts that “secure” the hard drive in place were broken, perhaps from constant pressure from connecting the cables. Did a simple fix using tape and tadahhh, It’s back and running. All good so far. Shit happens.

    Reply
  • 76. john phillipo  |  July 11, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    same issue that everybody was having the drive just stop taking data after a couple of months so i managed to get the data off of the drive,then formatted it with swissknife free from download.com http://download.cnet.com/CompuApps-SwissKnife-V3/3000-18512_4-87976.html?tag=mncol ever since i did that the simpledrive worked fine for over a year now try it ,works fine and good luck

    Reply
  • 77. G. Cepela  |  September 7, 2010 at 1:22 am

    garbage,mine doesn’t work either

    Reply
  • 78. Gramy  |  December 12, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    I lost the cd with the drivers of my 250Gb Simpletech Pininfarina and I’m trying to connect to the pc but it doesn’t recognize.
    On the site i didn’t find nothing about this model. Someone from here can help me please avec the driver. If someone can send me a driver at this e-mail gramy_g@yahoo.com. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 79. Eli Bensky  |  September 11, 2011 at 4:01 am

    Found my red Simpletech Pinin Farina H/D but, I can’t find my CD to install om my MacBook. Any help would be appreciated

    Reply
  • 80. Fabian  |  October 9, 2011 at 6:13 am

    I hope people take the time to read these posts,

    lucky are those who found a solution to the failed simpletech harddrives .
    I had no such luck, despite opening the unit by removing the all 4 screws / and side panels then forcing the top and bottom apart. i removed the ribbon connector from the lid and the other 2 from the hd. put it all back togeter and tried again with out the case secured and still didn’t work. Even as a slave drive inside my PC, I know this is not nice to say but this is truely a piece of crap …this drive had my backups on it.

    So whats the point then? if the back drive isint relialle where are your backups supposed to go… on 3.25 diskettes?
    DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM SIMPLETECH….

    Reply
    • 81. Fabian  |  October 9, 2011 at 6:17 am

      long night I was tired when I sent this. but u get my point and feel my frustration. good night 🙂

      Reply
      • 82. Peña Nieto is Evil  |  December 3, 2011 at 6:27 pm

        Option 1) Data recovery
        Option 2) HDD are that cheap nowadays that you could either buy a second backup drive or buy storage on the cloud. Most people I know keep using the HDD for years until the point of fail, but that is risky.

  • 83. SAM  |  December 3, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    I HAVE simpletech hard drive 320G HE WAS WORKING GOOD PUT
    When files exceeded 80GB began bulb red and blue are not working and now one of them advised me to buy a adapter, how is the amount of electricity needed by the

    Reply
  • 84. sam  |  December 4, 2011 at 7:48 am

    I bought simpletech harddrive 320G , it was working good but when I put files up to 80G the devise began to hang and it dosen’t work.
    the red light and the blue light shown as normal.

    Kindly can you tell me how many volts does the harddisk needs when I wanna use the power supply is it 12V or more or less.
    Thanks in advance.

    Reply
  • 85. irvin arroyo  |  January 5, 2012 at 5:27 pm

    my hard drive put it to a pc and then my brother got into a mac and now it wants to pull how I can do to pull back by good day

    Reply
  • 86. Edgardo Lopez  |  December 2, 2012 at 3:32 am

    necesito el driver para este disco duro! 🙂 alguien que me lo pueda mandar o dar algún link de descarga por favor
    muchas gracias!

    Reply
  • 87. Free Blinking Lights Blog  |  November 13, 2013 at 1:36 am

    Simpletech 2tb Simpledrive Pro Duo

    […] ged it back in. The blue light goes around several times, then there is a sound […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


