Latte Boom GSM Unlocked Phone Review

May 6, 2007 at 8:24 pm 42 comments

latteboom01.jpg
Reviewed by K.C. Kim
http://lattefone.com/

Frequency: 850/1800/1900 MHz or 900/1800/1900 MHz
89 X 37 X 22.9 mm:
Mini Boom Box style
Powerful Amplified Dual Stereo Speakers
1.3 Mega Pixel CMOS Camera/Camcorder Function
1.5″ 65K Color TFT LCD Screen
Built-in MP3/MPEG4 Player Functions
SMS, MMS, WAP Support
64 Polyphonic Sound
Expandable T-Flash Slot
Video Recording upto allowable memory space
Speaker Phones
Built-in Games
Phone Book, Calculator, Calendar, World Clock, etc
Accessories: Handset, 2 Battery, Travel Charger, Stereo EarPiece, USB Cable, Manual, and 256MB T-Flash

latteboom03.jpg
What’s in the box: Handset, Battery Travel Charger, Stereo EarPiece, USB Cable, Manual, and 128MB T-Flash.

Intro: Having previously reviewed the Latte Slim 11b I had high expectations coming in. And soon relieve to find yet another solid phone by Latte Communications. The Latte Boom music phone is a rock solid slider that has tons of features you will love.

latteboom02.jpg
Packaging: Presentation is very important especially in the retail space. The box that it comes with is really nice. Better than some other phones I own.

latteboom04.jpg
latteboom05.jpg
latteboom06.jpg
latteboom07.jpg
Design: The phone has two Amplified Speakers on the face of the unit next to the LCD that gives it a sort of Mini Boom Box look to it. Its shape is remarkably small and is about the size of a 1st gen Ipod Shuffle. Some may call this a bit of thick phone. But it can easily fit into a shirt or pants pocket. The slider motion has a nice snap to it. And the keypad while a bit cramped has a nice tactile feel to it (Even better keypad than the Nokia N95). Overall good design, small, and feels solid and expensive.

Size: Here’s how the Latte Boom compares to other phones:

latteboom08.jpg
Left to right: Latte Boom, Nokia N95, and Cingular 8525

latteboom09.jpg
Latte Boom & Nokia N95 with sliders

latteboom10.jpg
Just sliders

latteboom12.jpg
Features:

latteboom14.jpg
Music: Being a music phone you would want to know the quality of audio. And overall the audio quality is excellent. I would rate this at the quality of dedicated DAPs. And with the two built in speakers you can share your music with your friends. The speakers are very loud. Probably the loudest I heard on a phone.

latteboom13.jpg
Video: Two music videos were preloaded. And I was impressed with the video quality even if it was on a 1.5-inch screen. Flawless smooth playback with no jitters. I don’t see anyone watching a full movie on this but for music videos, short films, and animated clips it would work well.

Image Viewer – To view all your pictures

Sound Recorder – Record audio clips

latteboom20.jpg
Camera/Camcorder: When you slide the phone open you will find the 1.3 MP camera. Good enough pics when your on the go. And can’t carry your camera. The cam also doubles as a video recorder. You can record video up to the size of the memory card.

latteboom11.jpg
Phone: Just like the previous Latte Slim 11b I had no issues with phone call quality on the Latte Boom. Using Cingular service in my area the signal was good the calls were crystal clear. Other phone features include WAP Browser for accessing the Internet and SMS and MMS messaging.

Phone Book: In phonebook you can add an entry with name, number, home number, company name, email address, office number, fax number, birthday, associate picture, associate video, associate sound, caller group,

latteboom15.jpg
latteboom16.jpg
Game: Included is three games – Jet, Monkey and Puzzle

Themes: Choose from three themes, which change the background color from Orange, Blue and Grey

Stopwatch: Also included is a simple stopwatch

latteboom17.jpg
Organizer: Calendar, To Do List, Alarm and World Clock

latteboom18.jpg
Extras: Some more features are a Calculator, Unit Converter, Currency Converter and Health

latteboom19.jpg
Conclusion: Latte Communications is on roll first with the Latte Slim 11b slim phone and now with the Latte Boom Slider Music Phone they add yet another excellent phone to their portfolio. The Latte Boom has a ton of features pack in to a small form factor. If your looking for an alternative to the LG Chocolate or Nokia n95 music phones look no further than the Latte Boom.

Rating 9.5 out of 10

The Latte Boom is now available at LatteZone.

Also coming soon from Latte Communication will be the Latte Neon7 touchscreen phone.

Entry filed under: Reviews.

e-Uro™ PlayStation® Portable (PSP) Nylon Strap Case System (with Ballistic Nylon case) Review Nokia N95 Tradition leather case by Noreve Review

42 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joe  |  May 30, 2007 at 9:54 pm

    How durable is this phone? say if it accidentally falls will it break?

    Reply
  • 2. K.C. Kim  |  May 30, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    It’s pretty durable. Should be able to take a fall and still work.

    Reply
  • 3. jenny  |  August 11, 2007 at 9:48 pm

    is this phone good

    Reply
  • 4. John  |  September 3, 2007 at 9:12 am

    this phone is great! i have on myself. i drop it like 2 or three times.. pretty hard =P but it still work of course. very durable
    great sound and the mp4.. hrm.. im not sure if i did it wrong, but like.. i converted the avi fiels into mp4 and put it on my phone, but it wont play.. so i dont know what to do =P

    Reply
  • 5. Quoc  |  September 6, 2007 at 2:01 am

    yes i love this phone. i’m using one of it right now too. the speakers are incredible

    Reply
  • 6. John  |  September 21, 2007 at 11:49 pm

    Anyone who has this phone, can yo please email me? Im having trouble with this phone for the past few days.

    tennisjohn@gmail.com

    Reply
  • 7. eewee  |  October 24, 2007 at 3:52 pm

    John, I have the same phone and I called the customer service on thier web site for the minor questions and the thier customer service was great. If you have any problem with the phone, call the company, they will help you.

    Reply
  • 8. nicole  |  November 5, 2007 at 8:48 pm

    i can’t figure out how to move on to the next word on the ez abc (predictive text) so if anyone has figured it out can you help me!!!???!!! my email is coliecole7@hotmail.com

    Reply
  • 9. Daisy  |  November 8, 2007 at 1:30 am

    How much is this phone? i think its cute and great.

    Reply
  • 10. KC Kim  |  November 21, 2007 at 3:16 pm

    You can now get this at Thinkgeek.com for $149.
    http://www.thinkgeek.com/gadgets/cellphone/9da6/

    Reply
  • 11. hannah  |  December 1, 2007 at 7:24 pm

    I wanted to get this phone for Christmas but I would really love to know how long the talk time is

    Reply
  • 12. bilbofaggins  |  December 21, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    pretty solid construction, this is a durable phone. battery lasts maybe a day and a half.

    Reply
  • 13. Latte Boom GSM Unlocked Phone Reviewed | IndiaKnows.com  |  December 27, 2007 at 3:14 pm

    […] Check out our review of Latte’s latest GSM unlocked phone the Latte Boom HERE […]

    Reply
  • 14. anthony  |  December 27, 2007 at 10:16 pm

    does this phone have bluetooth?

    Reply
  • 15. tayyab  |  January 16, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    i need only latte boom cell phone charger, data cable and air buds if it’s possible plz reply back

    Reply
  • 16. Latte Neon7 hits ebay | IndiaKnows.com  |  February 3, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    […] is now selling the Latte Neon7 on ebay for $269.99 plus $11.99. I have previously reviewed the Latte Boom and Slim11b but haven’t had a chance to check out the Latte Neon7 as of yet. But from the […]

    Reply
  • 17. Manny  |  March 2, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    I really like this phone i wanna buy it but were are the directional (left,right,down,up) buttons and i wanna see it size compared with a razr cell phone.

    Reply
  • 18. Nick  |  March 28, 2008 at 4:42 am

    Mine is bricked (unusable)…

    The battery died and it went to the Latte splash screen, it then hung there and wouldn’t turn on or off, I knew I wouldn’t be home for a couple hours, so I popped the battery to turn it off because I didn’t want to have the LCD on for a couple hours with just the latte logo.

    When I got home and plugged it in the Latte splash screen blinks on and off and it will not charge or turn on, same thing with the second batter, the phone will not recognize the batteries to charge them, even though it knows they are installed because it will boot to the disk mode still.

    This phone has no reset or reflash option, and the relatively small size of the company means there isn’t much information online.

    A phone (which is by the way less then two months old) should not be bricked by having the battery removed.

    The company sent me an RMA, but I cannot use it because I am not in the US… so I have an expensive paper weight and no way to make calls right now.

    It was a great phone until it stopped working from something as innocent as removing the battery… be ware there is nothing you can do with this phone if it stops working, no reset, no nothing.

    Reply
  • 19. Dafrety  |  April 3, 2008 at 4:49 am

    Wow, I recently found out about this phone and simply fell in love with it. I haven’t gotten one yet, but I’m trying to find out something. Can it use micro SDHC cards? I want to get an 8GB and use it with it, but I’m not sure. It won’t change my opinion on it. Thanks for the great review!

    Reply
  • 20. The Kitty Bandito  |  April 17, 2008 at 1:58 am

    i haven’t bought my Latte Boom yet,but i dont get how the charger works,
    i see no cord attached to it,
    do i have to remove the battery then insiert it into the charger?
    that would be kind of a pain doing every night
    😛

    Reply
  • 21. sam  |  April 27, 2008 at 6:40 am

    Same situation as Nick (post number 18)

    Phone went paper weight on me an hour or so ago after running out of charge. I am trying to reach customer support to have the situation dealt with. Please refrain from purchasing this phone and opt for something a bit more…friendly. Typing text messages is a pain as you can’t cycle through different words and you end up having to learn or fabricate shortcuts that are not really shortcuts to get the words you actually need.

    Reply
  • 22. John  |  May 6, 2008 at 6:17 am

    mine died out onme after a few months. just got it fixed. Now im not able to transfer pictures from my phone to my laptop. can anyone help? cause theres only two folders that we can use for transfering (music and videos), im wondering… WHERES THE IMAGE folder???? i forgot what i did in order for the image folder to appear. can anyone help???

    Reply
  • 23. Abraham  |  May 21, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    I want to set up the latte boom to send MMS with Cingular or ATT can anyone please help! I can txt (SMS) send and recive with it now im using Cingular but i cant MMS i can recive but not send.Email me dnsndab@yahoo.com.
    Thank You,
    aB

    Reply
  • 24. Abraham Basilio  |  May 24, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    I need help again w/ My latte boom when call or someone calls me i can hear the person on the other end of the phone but they cant hear me what can i do? Please email me if you have any info!
    dnsndab@yahoo.com
    Thanks,aB

    Reply
  • 25. Kathy  |  June 1, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    I just received this phone, but I cannot find a way to find the menu, phonebook, and other places in the phone. When I slide open the phone, only the camera and mp3 choices are available in the front screen of the lower left and right corners. Is there a way to get to the menu?? Do all of the BOOM phones have this view or is it just mine?

    Reply
  • 26. DK  |  June 27, 2008 at 6:41 am

    How about frequency: 900/1800/1900 MHz… is it possiable for me to buy one??? please help!

    Reply
  • 27. iko  |  August 2, 2008 at 3:57 am

    where can I find a soft pause on this cellphone? Can anyone help me?

    Reply
  • 28. iko  |  August 2, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    DK, be advise that the frequency is used for all countries. You can use it in USA, Europe, Africa,ect… I just came back from a trip and it is okay.

    Reply
  • 29. ignacio viveros alvarez  |  August 26, 2008 at 2:19 am

    quiero saber en donde puedo comprar los accesorios del telefono latte boom quisiera comprar el cargador de bateria y el cable de entrada para el usb

    Reply
  • 30. aaron  |  August 28, 2008 at 2:18 am

    were can i get one instead of thinkgeek.com

    Reply
  • 31. Cady  |  August 29, 2008 at 2:43 am

    I hope someone can help me. I’ve had my Boom since maybe May or late April. I loved it. For a while I had a problem because it kept searching and saying it found a new time zone and did it so often I wasn’t able to change the setting so it wouldn’t. Well, I managed to fix it. But today I sent a text. The battery display was still green. I took out my phone a couple minutes later, and it was off. I can’t turn it back on. I’ve tried a lot. I tried putting the charger in…nothing. I switched the battery and still nothing.
    Any idea of what is wrong?

    Reply
  • 32. Bien  |  September 10, 2008 at 2:19 am

    ill tell yall. get one at amazon. im gonna get mine on 18 i think.
    im excited. but yeah wheres the arrow keys???

    waaa i think im screwed now !

    wer is the arrow keys

    Reply
  • 33. Joel Wong  |  September 13, 2008 at 8:58 am

    Amazing review!
    I got a few questions about it.
    how good is the quality on the bass and trebles?
    are those two round thing outside a loudspeaker?
    where are the up,down,left,right buttons?

    Reply
  • 34. lester  |  December 24, 2008 at 1:54 am

    well I cant charge my phone sooo I will get back to you on dat

    Reply
  • 35. lester  |  December 24, 2008 at 1:56 am

    still cant charge soo can you please send me a manual for it

    Reply
  • 36. lester  |  December 24, 2008 at 1:56 am

    no on send me any thing yet . hello can any one hear me

    Reply
  • 37. K.C. Kim  |  December 24, 2008 at 2:09 am

    Try contacting the manufacturer.
    http://lattefone.com/

    Reply
  • 38. C F  |  June 11, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    This phone is not what it profess to be. The chargers dont hold a charge, the mms dont come through. This phone is cute and that’s it. I will never spend money on another one. Bought it on Overstock.

    Reply
  • 39. Jeanne  |  June 24, 2009 at 1:59 am

    I bought this to replace my broken cell phone and I loved it! Almost a year in, I actually fixed my old phone and stopped using this one. But when I went to get something off of it several months later, it wouldn’t power on, and plugging it did nothing. For a while, the USB screen would come up when it was hooked up to the computer, but I couldn’t get anywhere. Now it just doesn’t respond at all. I really did like it while I had it and I’m still hoping for some solution.

    Reply
  • 40. Jacob  |  July 29, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    I just got this phone and I look through all the instructions and I still can’t figure out how to access the main menu? Can someone please tell me how to go the the main menu?

    Reply
    • 41. Jeanne  |  October 9, 2009 at 1:20 am

      Jacob, I hope you figured it out, but in case you haven’t yet. The main menu is accessed by pushing down on the silver toggle switch on the side (the one that moves up and down). I had the same problem when I first got it 😛

      Reply
  • […] LOL at ThinkGeeks advertising of the Latte Boom as the Ghetto Blaster. It really is a good cell phone. You can check out my original review of the Ghetto Blaster aka Latte Boom HERE […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


